lehighalumni | Founder's Day 2017

Created 30-Oct-17
Modified 31-Oct-17
Visitors 95
37 photos
2017 Founder’s Day
Lehigh University celebrated its 139th Founder’s Day on a beautiful fall day on October 27, 2017. The ceremony honored founder Asa Packer, reflected upon Lehigh’s heritage, and celebrated the leaders who continue to shape the university.

President John Simon ’19P began the ceremony that commenced with the installation of Kevin L. Clayton ’84 ’13P as the new chairman of the Board of Trustees. Clayton inducted new members into Leadership Plaza that included Karen and Paul Levy ’69; Amy Frolick and Brad Eric Scheler ’74 ’05P ’08P ’09PG, former chairman of the Board of Trustees who installed Clayton; Hemali and Sanjay Shah ’89G; Elinor Bretzlaff; John Deichler ’30; Virginia and Bernard Hale ’30; and an anonymous donor.

New administration and faculty, as well as those who have recently received promotions and tenure, were recognized, and the new Peter E. Bennett '63 Head Baseball Coach was installed.

Keynote speakers were Matthew Rothberg ’18, president of the Undergraduate Student Senate, and Nick Ungson ’15G ’18G, president of the Graduate Student Senate.

Following the ceremony, the community attended an outdoor Founder’s Day Rally that was led by the Marching ’97 and the Lehigh cheerleading squad.

Click here to see the full story.

Photos by John Kish IV. To download a photo, click on it and select the Download option from above the photo.